MICHAELERPLATZ 6, 1010 VIENNA, AUSTRIA, TEL. +43 – 1–533 80 32, eMAIL OFFICE@LODEN-PLANKL.AT

What is loden, and what is walk?

These materials are tradi­tio­nally made from sheep’s wool. They are felted through exposure to heat and water. In the case of loden, the source material is a woven fabric; in the case of walk, a knitted fabric is used.

Loden

The produc­tion process

To this day, pure new wool is spun into a woollen yarn before being woven into woollen cloth. The fabric is then refined by repeatedly adding alpaca or cashmere
before the resul­ting material is strongly compressed in a fulling machine using hot water. This is the heart of the produc­tion process for the actual loden fabric. The wet material is kneaded (‘walked’) until it is felted, lending it high strength and ideal thermal proper­ties; it is also water-repel­lent. The old machines are often the best. The original Schlad­minger loden, a coarse and extre­mely robust material made of Styrian sheep’s wool, is still made using a fulling hammer machine dating from 1888.

More than 40 work steps

The produc­tion process calls for a great deal of knowledge and experi­ence. As many as 40 work steps are needed – roughe­ning, smoot­hing, warping, ironing, sprea­ding, pressing and many more – until the material has the familiar quality that is required.

Walk materials

The knitting mill mainly produces goods of pure new wool, sold by the metre. The balls of yarn thereby created are pressed, moved, forced together, compressed, watered and heated as they trans­form into walk. A yarn ball is kneaded for between 30 minutes and 12 hours. Finally, to attain the required look, the walk material is flattened out to dry, pressed and steam treated.

Ironing and pressing in walk produc­tion

These steps are important in obtai­ning a soft walk material appro­priate to the modern day, rather than the scratchy material of old. After napping and shearing the surface (for a very soft feel and to avoid pilling on walk fabrics of soft woollen yarn), pressing and press fixing are critical in produ­cing a silky sheen. Diffe­rent wet proces­sing methods (finishes) produce diffe­rent walk quali­ties; roller pressing is used for super-soft walk materials. Finally, decati­sing (steam treat­ment) ensures a perma­nent finish to the relevant quality standard.

Types of wool

Austrian mountain sheep
Strong, warm, classi­cally beautiful

Tradi­tio­nally, these animals are shorn before and after herding. The produc­tion process involves the tradi­tional old crafts of spinning, weaving and fulling. Hard-wearing loden is used to make warm, water-repel­lent and stain-resistant clothing.

Alpaca
Light and colourful

Alpaca wool is smooth, shiny and soft to the touch. Since the hairs are hollow on the inside, it is extre­mely light. This type of wool is derived from alpacas. Although the camel-like animals mainly live at altitudes of 3,000 to 5,000 metres in Peru, Chile and Bolivia, they are increa­singly being bred in the Alps.

Merino
Soft, fluffy and wonder­fully warm

Merino sheep are a very popular breed. They are bred in South America, New Zealand, South Africa and also in Europe in ever greater numbers. The animals are shorn by hand just once a year, in the spring. Merino wool is fine and soft, with highly attrac­tive and elegant colours.

Cashmere
for true connois­seurs

Cashmere is one of world’s finest and most luxurious fibres. Cashmere goats live in extreme cold at high altitudes in the Himalayas; their wool is incom­pa­rably soft and pleasing to the touch. A maximum of 100 grams can be combed from the downy hair of a goat in a year.

WE LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR VISIT!

MICHAELERPLATZ 6, 1010 WIENÖSTERREICHTELEFON +43–1–533 80 32, eMAIL OFFICE@LODEN-PLANKL.AT

Was ist Loden und was ist Walk?

Beide Stoff­arten werden tradi­tio­nell zumeist aus Schaf­wolle gefer­tigt. Das Material wird durch die Einwir­kung von Hitze und Wasser verfilzt. Beim Loden ist dieses Ausgangs­ma­te­rial ein gewebter Stoff, beim Walk nimmt man gestrickte Ware.

Loden

Die Entste­hung

Bis heute wird dazu Schur­wolle zu einem Wollgarn gesponnen und weiter zu einem Wollstoff verwoben. Immer wieder wird der Stoff auch durch Beigabe von Alpaka- oder Kasch­mir­wolle verfei­nert.
Dieser Stoff wird anschlie­ßend durch kochendes Wasser in der „Walke“ stark verdichtet. Hier, im Herzstück der Loden­stoff­er­zeu­gung, entsteht der eigent­liche Loden. Der nasse Stoff wird solange geknetet („gewalkt“), bis er verfilzt und damit nicht nur hohe Festig­keit und ideale Wärme­ei­gen­schaften erhält, sondern auch wasser­ab­wei­send wird. Dabei sind die alten Maschinen oft die besten. So wird der Original Schlad­minger Loden, ein grober, extrem robuster Stoff aus steiri­scher Schaf­wolle, auch heute noch auf der alten Hammer­walke aus dem Jahr 1888 erzeugt.

Mehr als 40 Arbeits­schritte.

Die Ferti­gung erfor­dert viel an Wissen und Erfah­rung. Und es braucht bis zu 40 Arbeits­schritte – rauen, glätten, schären, bügeln, verstrei­chen, pressen, uvam. – bis der Stoff die gewünschte und bewährte Qualität erreicht.

Walkstoff

In der Strickerei wird Meter­ware, zumeist aus Schur­wolle, gefer­tigt. Druck, Bewegung, Anein­an­der­drü­cken, Zusam­men­stau­chen, Wasser und Wärme wirken auf den so entstan­denen Strick­ballen ein, während er zum Walk mutiert.

Von 30 Minuten bis 12 Stunden wird ein Strick­ballen gewalkt. Um das gewünschte Erschei­nungs­bild zu errei­chen, wird der Walkstoff abschlie­ßend flach­ge­trocknet, gepresst und mit Dampf behan­delt.

Bügeln und Pressen bei der Walkerzeu­gung

Diese Schritte sind wichtig, um anstatt eines wie früher kratzigen Stoffes, einen zeitge­mäßen, weichen Walkstoff zu bekommen. Nach dem Aufrau­enund der Schur der Oberfläche (für beson­ders weichen Griff und Pilling-Vermei­dung der Walkstoffe aus weichen Streichgarnen)kommen das wichtige Pressen und die Press­fi­xie­rung für einen seidigen Stoff­glanz. Verschie­dene Nassbe­hand­lungen (Appre­turen) oder das Pressen in der Mulden­presse für super­leichte Walkstoffe ermög­li­chen unter­schied­liche Walkqua­li­täten. Am Schluss kommt das Dekatieren (Dampf­be­hand­lung) zur Fixie­rung der gefer­tigten Qualität.

Wollarten

Öster­rei­chi­sches Bergschaf – robust, warm, klassisch schön

Die Tiere werden tradi­tio­nell vor und nach dem Almtrieb geschoren. Alte Handwerks­tra­di­tion bestimmt die Ferti­gung: spinnen, weben, walken. Aus dem robusten Loden­stoff wird warme, nässe- und schmutz­ab­wei­sende Beklei­dung gefer­tigt.

Alpaka – leicht und farben­froh

Alpaka-Wolle ist glatt, glänzend und weich im Griff. Sie ist extrem leicht, weil das Haar innen hohl ist. Diese Wollart stammt von den kamel­ähn­li­chen Alpakas, die vorwie­gend in Peru, Chile und Bolivien auf einer Höhe von 3.000m bis 5.000m leben, aber nun auch immer öfter in den Alpen gezüchtet werden.

Merino – Luftig weich, herrlich warm.

Merino­schafe sind eine sehr beliebte Rasse, gezüchtet in Südame­rika, Neusee­land, Südafrika und immer öfter auch in Europa. Die Tiere werden nur einmal im Jahr, jeweils im Frühjahr, in Handar­beit geschoren. Merino­wolle ist fein und weich, Merino-Stoffe zeigen sehr schöne, elegante Farben.

Cashmere – für wahre Kenner

Cashmere ist eine der kostbarsten und feinsten Fasern der Welt. Kasch­mir­ziegen leben im Himala­ya­ge­biet in großer Höhe und extremer Kälte, ihre Wolle ist unerreicht weich und angenehm. Max. 100 Gramm pro Jahr werden aus dem Flaum­haar eines Tieres gekämmt.

WIR FREUEN UNS AUF IHREN BESUCH